Establishing Healthier Habits – Pt.2

feast

Balance, Intent, Relationship.

It’s been a little while since I posted. It’s not that I haven’t had anything to write about but just the opposite. There are so many thoughts and topics that have been running through my mind that it’s hard to find time to expound on them all. No worries, I’m going to get them all out in due time.

I’m praying that God will keep me properly balanced so that I don’t overindulge in any one thing. Even blogging.

I like that this is more of an outlet of expression for me. A way to “share” what I’m learning on this journey and to gain more insight by connecting with others, all while doing something I enjoy… writing!

I’m grateful if people began to follow or someone likes my topics but I don’t ever want that to become a goal. Although, I’m truly grateful when it does happen, I’m especially grateful in knowing that sharing the gospel of Jesus Christ and what He has/is doing in my life has the potential to inspire someone to change their direction.

I don’t know about anyone else but it’s humbling to know that God would even consider using me to draw others closer to Him. What a blessing!

After reading my daily devotional, I was provoked to write about how easy it is to fall into temptation and sin when we are not gravitating toward the Word.

I use to wonder how someone like myself, that grew up in church, sitting in the pews multiple times a week, could become so distant from God and his commandments. The answer to that is rather simple. We cannot expect to remain cleansed and pure without the Word.

You can claim to have a relationship with God but if you aren’t spending quality time with Him and His word your fight against temptation and sin is doomed.

Ephesians 5:26-27 (KJV)
26 That he might sanctify and cleanse it with the washing of water by the word,
27 That he might present it to himself a glorious church, not having spot, or wrinkle, or any such thing; but that it should be holy and without blemish.
This is the reason why my home is filled with books, magazines and anything else that relates to God and His Word. My car radio stays on the gospel station, I listen to CDs of scripture and motivational sermons on the goodness of the Lord and overall healing. My YouTube looks like I’m studying for some huge test on godly family life and marriage. I consume myself with things that feed my goals for this journey. For some it may be overkill but for me it’s just the opposite … it’s life. Life and health to all my flesh.
Proverbs 4:20-22 (KJV)
20 My son, attend to my words; incline thine ear unto my sayings.
21 Let them not depart from thine eyes; keep them in the midst of thine heart.
22 For they are life unto those that find them, and health to all their flesh.
Don’t be mistaken, I can become slack in my attempts at times. But the difference is that I recognize it now and become convicted and that quickens me to repent and draw nearer to my Father. I don’t think that would be possible if I wasn’t filled with all of the things I just mentioned. Some say you can’t lose your salvation, but I disagree. You can’t lose what Jesus did on the cross, but you can lose the blessing of what that means if you don’t have the relationship. What you don’t nurture you will lose. You can’t expect a neglected relationship to be a lasting one.
The good news:
Jesus  promises to take our stumbling, disheveled lives and present us faultless to the Father. As we become more yielded to His Spirit and His ways, He will keep us from stumbling.
To reflect the presence of the Father, we must rely on the Son.
-Joe Stowell
4 thoughts on “Establishing Healthier Habits – Pt.2

  1. What an excellent reminder. I know I’m often tempted to do things “for” God without relying on Him. There are many times when I have to stop, surrender, and be still in His presence, instead of scrambling with lots of activity. Thank you so much for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much Sarah for your comment! I’m glad that you could relate…and thankfully our Father knows our heart and is merciful.

      How awesome is it that after all He’s done He actually desires for us to take time and rest in Him. What a cool dad!

      Have a blessed weekend Sarah and please stop by again!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

