Establishing Healthier Habits – Pt. 1

healthy-habits-for-recovering-substance-abusers

Spending time with God is a vital part of the Christian life. We do this when we read the Bible, talk with Him in prayer, and meditate on thoughts from His word. The more we do this, the better we get to know Him and the more our lives begin to reflect His image and His truth.

Centering on God prepares our hearts and strengthens us for the day. In that quiet place He comforts us, He instructs us, He listens to us. There we learn to love Him and worship Him again; we esteem His words and defer to Him once more.We get His fresh perspective on the problems and possibilities of our day.

-David Roper (Our Daily Bread)

I’ve been striving toward a more habitual prayer life. Seeking to build a tighter bond with the Father. Not in a way that is religious but in a way that reflects true friendship. I think I’m in a season where God is pushing me to see Him as Friend as well as Father. I thought about the different types of relationships we have with others and it’s really helped me to understand the type of relationship we should all be experiencing with God.

woman-praying-with-bible

Most people wouldn’t speak to their parents in the same way they would speak to their friends. We compartmentalize our topics of discussion without even realizing it. It kind of just happens. We know from learned behavior what is acceptable and what isn’t and what is expected. God, on the other hand, knows us in our entirety. He knows us inside and out and knows the words we are going to say before we even speak them. Some may think that’s a scary thought, but how refreshing is it at the same time. Since He already knows everything, we don’t have to worry about being politically correct or live up to any societal or environmental expectations. I believe there are all types of prayers and seeking our Lord as Father and Savior, kneeling before Him, is needed. I also believe that Jesus teaches us that God is a Comforter to us through the Holy Spirit.

And I will pray the Father, and he shall give you another Comforter, that he may abide with you for ever;
Even the Spirit of truth; whom the world cannot receive, because it seeth him not, neither knoweth him: but ye know him; for he dwelleth with you, and shall be in you.
I will not leave you comfortless: I will come to you. 
(John 14:16-18)

I heard someone say that they had God as a Father, Jesus as a Brother and the Holy Spirit as a Friend. I love that. It shows how the Trinity (Father, Son, and Holy Spirit) encompasses all that we need.

I desire to have more of God during the morning and night as I kneel before Him, honoring Him for all His love, grace and mercy. I desire to have more of God when I’m driving in my car, discussing the happenings of the day and my frustrations. I desire to have more of God when I watch or listen to something that makes me laugh and uplifts me and I just want someone to share it all with…

I desire God. Plain and simple.

Anything I can do to get closer to Him becomes my ultimate goal. Not because I’m perfect but because I understand that I need Him. I can’t do life without Him. I’m too flawed for that. I understand that He needs to be at the center of all that I do. If more prayer, reading and fasting is the way, then let it be so.

Leave a Reply

