Gratitude

gratitude

Every now and again I get in this mood where I began to think on all the things I wish were different in my life. On the other hand I can’t deny how blessed I am and how far the Lord has brought me in this season and throughout my entire life. It can be a constant battle for Christians to be totally aware and honest about their emotions and still remain grateful without feeling a sense of guilt. I’ve found that when you realize that even those difficult moments are being used for your good, it helps to put things in the proper perspective. Dwelling on the so-called bad will only make you feel worse. When I’m in that low state, I like to reflect on all the things I’m grateful to God for. This can send a sense of peace, reassurance and a bolt of light in any dark place.

And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are the called according to his purpose. – Romans 8:28

At work last year I counseled a woman that shared with me some of the positive outlets she was using in her recovery. And although I had previously heard most of them, I was a bit surprised when she mentioned and explained her reasons for her “gratitude list”. I thought wow, I could really learn something from this woman. I promised myself that I would incorporate this new habit into my own lifestyle. Even if I don’t write them down, I think them over in my head and recite them to myself. Especially on days when I’m not at my best.

“Cultivate the habit of being grateful for every good thing that comes to you, and to give thanks continuously. And because all things have contributed to your advancement, you should include all things in your gratitude.”
― Ralph Waldo Emerson

I know that I don’t deserve all the blessings I receive from God, but because I am His and He loves me eternally (seeing the Son and Savior Jesus in me), He blesses me beyond measure anyway. For THIS I am most grateful. 

♥  What are you grateful for?  ♥

grateful

This idea of having a list to turn to as a reminder can really make a difference in how we feel about our lives. Looking at this list even has the ability to turn a negative day into a positive one! Many of us know deep in our hearts just how grateful we are …

When we really sit with ourselves and access our heart, the abundant source of gratitude within fills us with the sense that there really is no end to our thanksgiving. But remember, it is not necessary to have a written list to express your gratitude! As Meister Eckhart said in one of my favorite quotes of all time, “If the only prayer you said was thank you, that would be enough.” – Barb Schmidt

Leave a Reply

